Unpredictable Webs: Reviews


Lisa Moon rated it 5 of 5 stars

Darlene Quinn takes us on an unpredictable journey as her twin daughter Marnie, who was kidnapped at birth is about to be kidnapped again. At least that is the kidnappers plan. Entrenched in the high stakes and glamour of the fashion industry, Ashleigh Taylor must weave her way around saving not only her relationship with her daughter, but her entire family. The tale Darlene Quinn tells is beautifully written and reaches into the heart of families and their relationships with one another on many levels. Her characters come alive on the page filled with hopes, desires and fears. My personal favorite character is Helen, an older woman who is just starting her journey into Alzheimer’s. Helen keeps everyone on their toes as she wants to be a younger woman in dress and actions despite her age. I could identify with Helen. I want to still be young as well. There is something for everyone as the story is told through the daughters eyes as well as Ashleigh’s. A wonderful job! I enjoyed every minute of it.

Brenda 5 of 5 stars

If you like Barbara Taylor Bradford or Danielle Steel, you will love Darlene Quinn. She is among the best women fiction writers today. Her book “Unpredictable Webs” is packed with thrilling suspense and mystery; you will not be able to sleep until you discover what happens in the next chapter. The story involves an array of skillfully developed and compelling characters that come to life within the high-class world of a retail fashion empire. Yet again, one of Conrad and Ashleigh Taylor’s twins has been kidnapped. Marnie was kidnapped at birth and raised by a couple who wanted children. Marnie loved her only known parents and things become very complicated when she is found and returned to Conrad and Ashleigh at the age of sixteen; and to live with her unknown twin Callie and other sister Juliana. She feels inferior to her twin Callie who had always remained with their biological parents and just wants to return to her first family who loved her. Marnie is rebellious and seeks friendship with a young man on the internet. She plans to sneak out and meet him at a coffee shop while with her family at an event held at the Palmer House Hotel downtown Chicago. Unfortunately, it becomes a case of mistaken identity and her sister Callie becomes the victim of a kidnapping by a monstrous couple and held captive for ransom on an old, dilapidated boat where she meets the young boy who has no idea what is happening to either of them. Now, Marnie will do whatever it takes to save her sister. This is one of Darlene Quinn’s web series books and each book just gets better. I highly recommend this one filled with your favorite characters from Darlene’s previous books and some gut wrenching, jaw dropping excitement!

Brenda Minor: Psychologist/Author

Ionia rated it 4 of 5 stars

I’m happy! I haven’t read any of the other three previous books in the “Webs” Series–this was my introduction, but after reading this I wouldn’t mind backtracking and reading the others.

This novel has a lot of chapters, but they are short and it is easy to find a place to stop so you can do normal daily activities, which I appreciated. From the beginning the story is really interesting and not like other novels. There is dimension and depth to the plot even at the first chapter. I found that I fell in love with these characters effortlessly and it made me want to stick around to find out what happened with them.

The mother in this story has real reactions. She isn’t a fluff character that seems to say “okay” and just accept everything at face value. I love it when characters speak more through their actions and reactions than they do through miles of dialogue. This author has done a brilliant job making you believe that what you are reading has actually happened.

There is very little sexual innuendo in this book and the scenes aren’t graphic in the slightest. I thought it was wonderful that there were no sidelines into extreme sex that detracted from the story. It really bothers me when that happens and it doesn’t seem to fit into the pace or plot of the story. This author kept her focus from the beginning and never shifted gears unexpectedly.

The mystery element of this book was done supremely well. You can guess, but you can’t quite grasp the entire story until the end. The family bands together through drama and trauma and is really the heart of the story.

I would recommend this book to anyone, a very good, very surprising read.

Jazmin Jade rated it 3 of 5 stars

I had serious issues with rating this book. On some levels I felt it needed to be held around the four star mark, but on other ones I felt it required one.

If you would like to read my full and honest review follow the linkhttp://jazminjade.wordpress.com/2013/…

Cathleen rated it 4 of 5 stars

“Unpredictable Webs” is the second novel in the Web Series and my first read by this author in the Web Series. In this novel Darlene Quinn, the author, provides the reader with a plot that is action packed and capture’s the readers interest from the first paragraph.

Marnie Taylor, the almost sixteen year old rebellious twin to Callie, had been abducted shortly after birth. At eight she is reunited with her birth family, but holds such strong ties to the woman she called mom. Ashleigh and Conrad Taylor, the birth parents, wanting to be considerate to Marnie and the woman who cared and loved her for eight years allow liberal visitation. Marnie is determined to return to Erica who she still calls “Mom”, claiming her “birth parents” don’t really care about her. Due to her unhappiness and jealousy, she holds the inaccurate idea that her twin sister Callie and younger sister Julianna, are more loved and cherished by their parents. In her unhappiness Marnie becomes involved in an on-line relationship with Brad/Neil. This relationship sets in motion a kidnapping scheme created by Brad/Neil’s older drug addicted half-brother for ransom. The wrong twin is kidnapped and from this point the reader is introduced to an interesting cast of characters.

What I enjoyed the most is the short chapters. It was easy for me to finish a chapter and have a stopping point when I needed one. The plot and characters were varied and well created. I plan on reading the first book in the series so I have the background behind some of the characters that are brought back in the second book.

Dianne rated it 5 of 5 stars

Shelves: adult-fictionownnetgalleywell-developed-characters

Weaving another entangled web of the drama in the lives of the movers and shakers in the high fashion/retail industry, Darlene Quinn has, once again had me riveted to each page of Unpredictable Webs. Time has gone by, and centering around the tumultuous lives of the Taylors as Marnie rebels, becoming secretive and distant, the family feels the stress of having an unhappy teen who doesn’t know where she fits in with her birth family. Marnie meets a teen boy online, plans a secret meeting with him and enlists her twin, Callie to assist her. In an effort to prevent the meeting, Callie becomes a victim of being in the wrong place at the wrong time when she is kidnapped by the ex-con son of Erica’s boyfriend, who had used his younger brother as the unknowing go-between. Will Callie pay the price for her twin’s actions? Will money buy her freedom? What damage will this do to the fragile Marnie?

Darlene Quinn is a master of mystery and intrigue! One again, she deftly weaves a tale that showcases her passion for her work, her characters and the scenes she creates. From the dialogue, to the thoughts of each character, there is a sense of realism, a sense of urgency that powers the plot at a frantic pace. Bringing back many of the characters already woven into previous Web books and ensnaring new faces the deceit, tension and intrigue just never quits!

I received this copy in exchange for my honest review from Greenleaf Book Group Press.

Publication Date: April 16, 2013 Paperback Pub Date: January 7, 2014
Publisher: Greenleaf Book Group Press
ISBN: 9781626340770
Genre: Adult Mystery/Intrigue
Available from: Amazon | Barnes & Noble


Eileen Dandashi rated it 4 of 5 stars

Title: Unpredictable Webs, Book 4 (Web Series)
Author: Darlene Quinn
Genre: Literature/Fiction
Published By: Greenleaf Book Group Press (April 16, 2013)
Pages: 465
ASIN: B00CELBL74

”On first opening the pages of Darlene Quinn’s Webs series, readers may well feel that they are in for an engaging ”all about” novel–in Quinn’s case, all about the glamorous, dangerous, byzantine, and ultimately exciting world of fashion and high-end retail–and those readers would be right. But wait! There’s more! Quinn develops her storylines and plots in a way that keeps…the books charging forward…nothing is what it seems and no character is without great secrets that will twist events and surprise the reader in breathtaking ways. There’s a great deal of fun and —-Frank Gaspar, poet, novelist, and National Endowment for the Arts fellowship and three-time Pushcart Prize recipient

About The Author: Darlene Quinn, an international award-winning author and speaker lives in Long Beach, California. Before becoming an author in 2007, she was a public school teacher, a self-improvement and modeling instructor and a private contractor for department stores and hospitals.

Sizzling Cold Case, her first novel, published in January 2007, was a work in progress by her dear friend Buddy Ebsen who had passed away before completing. His widow requested that she finish the novel for him which she did with pleasure.

Her next 4 books are a series: Webs of Fate (prequel to the Web Series) Webs of Power, Twisted Webs, Conflicting Webs, and recently published Unpredictable Webs.

All her Web Series are award-winning novels. Unpredictable Webs, is the winner of the Beverly Hills Book Awards and the President’s Choice top prize winner.

About The Story: The main characters of this story are Marnie, Erica, Neil and Rick. Marnie is a twin that had been abducted by Erica’s husband from the hospital when she was born. Her husband has since passed away. Erica was Marnie’s mother for eight years when she was taken as her twin sister Callie, thus leading to events that reunite Marnie with her biological parents. Neil and Rick, half-brothers are son and step-son of Nelson who is Erica’s boyfriend.

Marnie, a sixteen year old, not entirely pleased to be back with her biological parents, is rebellious and rather live with her other mother, meets Neil on the internet. When Marnie plans on meeting Neil face-to-face at a Starbucks, Callie decides to step in to tell him to leave Marnie alone. She walks to the coffee house without Callie, hoping she could have a few minutes alone with Neil before Marnie arrives. Before she reaches Starbucks Callie is abducted from the street and thrown into a van. Marnie, following close behind her sister sees what happens. She has the foresight to use her phone to get the license number of the van. Marnie doesn’t know if Neil is involved or not. Did he set her up? Was this what he wanted all along? Did he know that he had Callie and not her? It was all her fault. She should never have started with him in the first place. She knew how dangerous it was meeting people that way. She ran back to her family as quickly as possible. The police were called and search is on to find Callie. Marnie knew she had to get her twin back. She couldn’t let her be hurt.

There are sub stories within the larger story which Darlene Quinn takes time to build. It adds a better understanding to the personalities of all the people who are in this ‘web’. Some of the characters are conflicted internally and others carry guilt complexes. This would be a very good book for discussion in a book club setting.

My Thoughts: Darlene Quinn’s knowledge in the world of fashion and major department stores and her contacts that she continues to have in high-level positions provided her an excellent basis to write this very believable story. I particularly enjoyed the multidimensional characters, making the ‘bad’ person not so evil because of his other redeeming qualities. This story and events could have played out in so many different ways. It only confirms that our destiny is created by events in our lives but also and more importantly what we do about such events.

There is a lot of growth in Marnie’s understanding of what family is. Neil also learns not to be so trusting. Erica learns how to let go of her baby Marnie. Ashleigh (Marnie and Callie’s biological mother) learns how deep her love is to Marnie and Callie.

Ms. Quinn’s story line was complex, story within story. Darlene Quinn keeps the reader moving from one set of characters to another, to another and to another. The reader, of course, is intrigued, trying to see how these seemingly separate stories converge. Ms. Quinn does this skillfully. The chapters and scenes are longer at the beginning of the story, but by the end of the story, the reader is moving quickly back and forth between the various players of this very suspenseful story. It was an exciting, page-turning novel. If the reader has not read all the previous books in the series, it hardly matters because the author very masterfully brings the reader up to the present story. However, that being said, I would enjoy returning to the prequel to complete the series.

Home. Love. Books. rated it 3 of 5 stars

This is the latest book in Darlene Quinn’s series and I think it holds true to the other three books pretty well. Like the others books I had some issues with this book, but there were also some good elements in the book as well.

To begin I thought that, much like in the book prior to this one, that the chapters being so short, really prevented me from getting into a rhythm in the book. I like when I can get lost in the characters, and the books chapter set up really kept me from doing that. Also another huge problem for me was the POV switches. There were some many that I had a hard time keeping track which POV we were in. And to be truthfully honest, I don’t think they needed a lot of them, I think not knowing every little thing that pops into a characters head can really help with suspense level in a book, and this POV head popping killed that.

I really think that you need to have read the first couple of books in order to really appreciate this book. I think that anyone who comes into this book without having read at least one of the other books will suffer from confusion, especially given the amounts of characters in the book. I thought the story worked out okay, and that’s the only reason I am giving this book three stars, even though the head jumping really killed the whole book for me.

Shay Williams rated it 2 of 5 stars

Shelves: contemporary-romancethriller

I picked up this book knowing that it was part of a series however the description did say that it could stand alone. I didn’t find that to be so at all. Every time the perspective would change to that of another character’s I would feel lost until I managed to determine just how this character would fit into the picture. So needless to say, I didn’t find this to be an enjoyable read.

The book is very well written and can easily see how readers who have followed this series would absolutely love this book. However as far as standing alone on its own merits, this book fails miserably in my eyes.

I do recommend this book to my readers who have been keeping up on this series. Otherwise I would either give it a pass or wait until you read the previous books.

*** I received this book at no charge from NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review. All opinions expressed within are my own.

Lauri Rottmayer rated it 4 of 5 stars

I really liked this book which is the fourth book in a series. Although I had some trouble at the beginning keeping track of all of the characters, as the book went on, I was drawn into the story and couldn’t put the book down.

The Taylors have twin daughters. One, Marnie, was kidnapped as a baby. I feel like this story was a little muddled and having read the previous books would have helped. In this book, the other twin, Callie is kidnapped by a man who believes her to be Marnie. But since he’s only after the ransom money in the end it really doesn’t matter to him which twin he has as long as he gets the money.

The story travels through suspenseful twists and turns. The short chapters read quickly.

I will definitely read the books that came prior to this one as I really enjoyed the author’s writing.

Ian Wood

This is the complete review as it appears at my blog devoted to reading, writing (no ‘rithmatic!), movies, and TV. Note that blog reviews often contain links which are not reproduced here, nor will updates and modifications to the blog review be replicated here.

I rated this novel warty.

After crashing and burning in an earlier novel in this series, I decided just to get to the actual story I’m supposed to be reading – which is this one. I was desperately hoping this would actually have entertainment value and that I could penetrate further than 25% into it without having my stomach turned. In this novel, which is, unfortunately peopled with some characters from earlier novels in the series, fifteen-year-old Marnie Taylor hooks up online with “Brad” who turns out to be not Brad and solely interested in kidnapping and ransom – and it’s not even the first kidnapping in the family’s history. This ought to have promised a laugh if nothing else, but since it was pretty much like the previous one I read, it wasn’t be much of anything else, I’m sorry to say.

My problem with Quinn in this novel is summarized perfectly on p28, in the first paragraph in chapter 6:

“The moment the delicious Versace rep wheeled his sample trunk out the front door of De Mornay’s and onto the snow-covered Chicago streets, Viviana sighed and kicked off her Maud Frizon pumps…while standing flat-footed, flexing her toes and rolling on the balls of her feet, reality hit. He’s the epitome of stylish perfection. There’s little chance that young man is straight.”

Seriously? How many kinds of wrong wrong wrong can you squeeze into seven lines? First comes the shameless and tediously snobbish name-dropping (which to be fair isn’t quite as bad here as it was earlier), then follows the insult to the Maud Frizon shoes which the name-dropping is supposedly championing! If these often expensive (Maud Frizons can got for up to $400 dollars although many are less than that) shoes are so wonderful, why is she quite evidently having to take them off her poor, aching feet? If they hurt her feet, why is she wearing them? And as if that isn’t bad enough, then comes the slur that only gay men know how to dress! And/or only gay men would be caught selling Versace! Granted you can ascribe that one to the sad character represented by Viviana De Mornay, but even that aside Quinn manages to name-drop twice and then sequentially insult those same names! Impressive, huh?

The problem (with the name-dropping; I don’t even want to get into the double-barreled insult to men of all stripes) is that it’s done solely for the free exercise of snobbery. We know this because a sentence including the clause “Viviana sighed and kicked off her pumps” would have been perfectly fine. It doesn’t need to be “Viviana sighed and kicked off her Maud Frizon pumps” yet Quinn insists upon that rather than the shorter alternative. I honestly don’t get what writers who write like this are trying to accomplish other than to promote how appallingly shallow they are in broadcasting that a name is more important than whether you like the item, or than whether it suits you, or than whether it’s value for money, or most importantly: more than whether it’s actually a comfort to wear – which it clearly isn’t in this case!

Unpredictable Webs is, predictably, another waste of time given my poor experience with one of its predecessors. The predictably dishonest book blurb puts the online interaction and subsequent kidnapping of Marnie front and center, but after 100 pages, nothing had happened save the shallow interactions of superficial characters who were already nauseatingly encountered in Webs of Power. I don’t care about any of these predictable people or their tattered web. They offered me nothing to care for. Worse than this, we’re never actually introduced to Marnie in any meaningful sense. She appears as a bit player in someone else’s story (I have no idea whose, this is so badly put together), so where’s the drama? Why on Earth should we care what happens to her when the author herself is so dismissive of her, so uninterested in her?

The promo for this novel claims that it’s a stand-alone: that you don’t have to have read any of the previous novels in the series to be able to read this, but even that isn’t true. If it stands alone, it’s by mere millimeters and on insubstantial legs, because there’s a history here of which you’re necessarily aware, but never party to if you haven’t read any of the previous stories – and that speaks volumes.

The basic story is a good idea – of twins, one of whom was kidnapped (why only the one isn’t explained) and then discovered sixteen years later and reclaimed by her biological parents. It’s a story which ought to be rich with conflict, torment, and anguish, with dramatic moments and moving interactions, but none of this materializes. The sad truth is that there’s actually no family here at all, only individuals, not relating, unrelatable, their familial interactions relatively poor. The story ought to appear as a horrible predicament for anyone to be put into, much less a mid-teenager, yet there is no drama here. There isn’t even any interaction worth the name. We don’t get to see how Marnie fits or fails to fit in. We don’t see her in any meaningful or deep interaction with her bio mom & dad, her adoptive mom & dad, or her twin sister, which is frankly, shameful. It’s all completely flat, shallow, and unremarkable. Watching ducks on the still surface of a pond would be deeper and more entertaining even if you couldn’t feed them.

I was unable to perceive Marnie (or anyone else for that matter) as a real person because she was only ever a paper doll, so I really don’t care if she’s kidnapped or not, or if she’s having a hard time or not. I wanted to read this for the kidnapping, but given that she was already kidnapped before the story began, this supposedly original story of a promised kidnapping seemed at best like a re-run, warmed-over but served cold, and life is way too short for undercooked leftovers when there are new, inventive, original, and engaging stories elsewhere in which to become immersed. When page after page drifted by like wilted spring petals in a cold creek, and the promised kidnapping continued to fail to show up, my impulse to read the story dwindled further with every screen until it was extinguished completely. The author kidnapped the story and no one knows where it’s being held. This rates only a ‘warty’ and I’m done reading Darlene Quinn novels.

Up-in rated it 5 of 5 stars

This is the 1st book I’ve read by Darlene Quinn and didn’t realize it was part of a series. However, that doesn’t take anything away from this book. The story moved along quickly and was captivating. At first it appeared to have a lot of characters but as the story developed, it was easy to keep track of everyone. The irony of this family being the victims of one of their twin daughters being kidnapped as an infant and then later the other twin being mistaken as that twin & kidnapped again keeps you glued to the book. As does the well written story about how Marnie (the twin kidnapped as an infant) deals with the emotions of having 2 families and guilt over being the cause of her twin’s abduction. The characters and interactions are easily believable and relatable.
This story is well written and takes you through the emotional turmoil of this family who was struck by many horrible things happening to them. I couldn’t stop reading and thankfully when I was forced to, the chapters were short & a stopping place was easily found. This is a great book & I’ll recommend it to my friends.
NOTE: I received this book in exchange for my honest opinion/review.

Artemiz rated it 3 of 5 stars

Shelves: netgalley2013

Unpredictable webs is interesting and intensive criminal novel.

In the beginning it was a bit slow, all the introduction of the many characters, and it started to get really confusing, when almost every chapter brought somebody new. I got the feeling all the time, like I was missing something, like this book is part of the series. And what do you know, it is. So this book is pretty good to stand on its own but same time it gives you enough to get interested in the previous books.

The story is good and strong, all the events well thought trough. Some places are too easily predictable or sometimes the story jumps ahead couple of steps and then looks back and you get the feeling like the author asks you ‘how did you not know that?’ but it all works. If usually story like this – kidnapping stories – end when the victim is back at home and the culprit is captured, then it’s not like that with this book. The story goes on, till the problem at the beginning of the book – unhappy teenager rebels against her parents – is also solved.

It is a good read.

Barbara rated it 5 of 5 stars

Unpredictable webs by Darlene Quinn
The story has been written with a vivid description of all the characters. This is a book you cannot put down. From the begining Ashleigh and Conrad’s kidnapping of one of their twin daughters to the end. This story has a mix of real life events. This is a must read! I highly recommend this book.

Katarina rated it 5 of 5 stars

Equally as good as all the other Darlene Quinn books.

Another big book, filled with vivid characters, true emotions and a storyline that keeps you turning page after page. Short chapters make it easy to read “just a few more pages” and keep you doing that for hours.

Froggarita rated it 5 of 5 stars

This book is from the Web series and it was a page turner! I didn’t want to put it down at all! Highly recommend!

*I did win this book in a goodreads giveaway for an honest review*

Katarina rated it 5 of 5 stars

Equally as good as all the other Darlene Quinn books.

Another big book, filled with vivid characters, true emotions and a storyline that keeps you turning page after page. Short chapters make it easy to read “just a few more pages” and keep you doing that for hours.

5.0 out of 5 stars Unpredictable Webs

By Joanne C. Laplante on July 19, 2013

Format: Hardcover

Darlene did it once again. If you like a series; it is an excellent book. If you like this author, you will enjoyed her latest novel and you can not put the book down. Once again, it is easy to follow and very enjoyable novel from the start to the end.

5 Stars – I hope there’s a continuation in the works

By MadameRue on June 17, 2014

Format: Hardcover

Although this book would have worked as a stand alone it is much better understood when read after the first 3 in the series.

I waited to read it until I had read the other 3 and so was not confused by the many characters in the book and their relationships with each other. It was also good to know the background of the characters that were developed in the first 3 books.

I enjoyed this book immensely. I liked the growth of the characters over the 16 years the series encompassed. This is one of those series that takes you through the lives of the characters from the beginning so you become enmeshed in the story and await the outcome of the various situations they find themselves in.

Obviously, the main 4 adult characters were more fully developed and I found myself more interested in them and their families than in the ancillary characters that, although they contribute to the story as a whole, are not as charismatic and pivotal.

This particular book seemed to take a little while to really get going and I didn’t find myself not wanting to put it down until about halfway through when the suspense of the story really took off.

Even though the story COULD end now I hope it doesn’t and that there is a continuation in the works.

5.0 out of 5 stars – Equally as good as all the other Darlene Quinn books

ByKatarina Ortmannon August 22, 2014

Format: Paperback

Equally as good as all the other Darlene Quinn books.

Another big book, filled with vivid characters, true emotions and a storyline that keeps you turning page after page. Short chapters make it easy to read “just a few more pages” and keep you doing that for hours.

5.0 out of 5 stars – Riveting!

By sgalley on June 19, 2014

Format: Kindle Edition

Set aside some reading time before you pick up this book, because it is really hard to put down once you have started it. It is amazing how you find yourself thinking about the characters even when you are not reading it. They become a part of your life. I recommend starting at the beginning of this series, so that you do not suffer “character confusion.” I have read them all, and highly recommend them. If you are at all interested in shopping at department stores, you should find the back story of the inner workings of the retail department store world to be fascinating.

UNPREDICTABLE WEBS followed the other books with its fast-paced, suspenseful plot line. In this book we have teen angst and a kidnapping to keep us riveted to the pages. It grabs you quickly and does not let go. It is realistic and engaging from the first chapter and does not let up. Nothing is ever what it seems with Darlene Quinn’s novels. There are secrets and twists that surprise the reader – sometimes with a gut-punch! I also enjoyed the “twin dynamic” side of the story. This book brings back many of the characters from the previous books, as well as adding new faces to the intriguing story.

UNPREDICTALBE WEBS is a gripping novel by a skilled author. Darlene Quinn pulls no punches when it comes to her characters, and ably draws us along to search for the answers right along with the characters. It’s a dark-edged story written with concise efficiency. It is an award winning book (Beverly Hills Book Awards Best Fiction 2013) and a 5 star read for me.

ARC provided by NetGalley and Greenleaf Book Group Press.

5.0 out of 5 stars – The Intense Intrigue Continues at Warp Speed

By DiiTOP 500 REVIEWER on January 25, 2014

Format: Kindle Edition

Weaving another entangled web of the drama in the lives of the movers and shakers in the high fashion/retail industry, Darlene Quinn has, once again had me riveted to each page of Unpredictable Webs. Time has gone by, and centering around the tumultuous lives of the Taylors as Marnie rebels, becoming secretive and distant, the family feels the stress of having an unhappy teen who doesn’t know where she fits in with her birth family. Marnie meets a teen boy online, plans a secret meeting with him and enlists her twin, Callie to assist her. In an effort to prevent the meeting, Callie becomes a victim of being in the wrong place at the wrong time when she is kidnapped by the ex-con son of Erica’s boyfriend, who had used his younger brother as the unknowing go-between. Will Callie pay the price for her twin’s actions? Will money buy her freedom? What damage will this do to the fragile Marnie?

Darlene Quinn is a master of mystery and intrigue! One again, she deftly weaves a tale that showcases her passion for her work, her characters and the scenes she creates. From the dialogue, to the thoughts of each character, there is a sense of realism, a sense of urgency that powers the plot at a frantic pace. Bringing back many of the characters already woven into previous Web books and ensnaring new faces the deceit, tension and intrigue just never quits!

I received this copy in exchange for my honest review from Greenleaf Book Group Press.

4.0 out of 5 stars – Unpredictable Webs

B SuzieQ on April 30, 2013

Format: Hardcover

I recently finished reading Darlene Quinn’s “Unpredictable Webs”. Having not read the previous web series books for a while, I was worried I would not remember the characters. Not to worry. The author did a good job bringing the reader up to speed by reiterating the characters and their relationships to each other. Anyone who has raised teen-agers will relate to the problems created among the siblings. Ms Quinn brings the story into the present social media world when Marnie, one of the twins finds solace for her problems with an unidentified on-line friend. As can be expected, this is not a wise decision. I like the short chapters making the book an easy read. I think the book can be read alone but once read, the reader will probably want to read the other books in the series. I am looking forward her next book in this series.

4.0 out of 5 stars – An interesting and well crafted story

By Cathleen Grey on January 18, 2014

Format: Kindle Edition

“Unpredictable Webs” is the second novel in the Web Series and my first read by this author in the Web Series. In this novel Darlene Quinn, the author, provides the reader with a plot that is action packed and capture’s the readers interest from the first paragraph.

Marnie Taylor, the almost sixteen year old rebellious twin to Callie, had been abducted shortly after birth. At eight she is reunited with her birth family, but holds such strong ties to the woman she called mom. Ashleigh and Conrad Taylor, the birth parents, wanting to be considerate to Marnie and the woman who cared and loved her for eight years allow liberal visitation. Marnie is determined to return to Erica who she still calls “Mom”, claiming her “birth parents” don’t really care about her. Due to her unhappiness and jealousy, she holds the inaccurate idea that her twin sister Callie and younger sister Julianna, are more loved and cherished by their parents. In her unhappiness Marnie becomes involved in an on-line relationship with Brad/Neil. This relationship sets in motion a kidnapping scheme created by Brad/Neil’s older drug addicted half-brother for ransom. The wrong twin is kidnapped and from this point the reader is introduced to an interesting cast of characters.

What I enjoyed the most is the short chapters. It was easy for me to finish a chapter and have a stopping point when I needed one. The plot and characters were varied and well created. I plan on reading the first book in the series so I have the background behind some of the characters that are brought back in the second book.

“This series just keeps getting better. The lives of the characters are as interesting as they were in the previous three books, and the addition of new characters continues to add depth to the story. In this book, Ashleigh’s twins are going through the typical teenage angst, but with so much added baggage it’s a wonder they’ve survived. But, the strength of their genes becomes apparent. I am intrigued by the resident cougar, Viviana; it appears that she has finally found love, but one never knows. Quinn does indeed weave Unpredictable Webs and only the next installment will answer my questions. It should be noted that while the Web series books are at their best read in order as a series, each one could easily be a standalone and enjoyed. And once again, the Author’s Notes are the equivalent of a history lesson of the retail industry. The added surprise is the Author Q & A, which provides deeper insight into Quinn’s writing. ”
Linda Thompson
Host of www.TheAuthorsShow.com

Stuck in Darlene Quinn’s Web

“I cracked the lid to Darlene’s latest web-tastic book Unpredictable Webs wondering what drama to expect from the well-drawn out characters in the 4th book of the Web series. The story starts out evenly enough updating where each individual is on their life path. What’s good about the series is you don’t have to read them in order to follow the storyline. As I read on getting filled in on the various factions I wondered what the linchpin would be for this volume.

It wasn’t long until the ride started and we were off to the races. I can’t remember the last time I read a book that fast. It was Quinn’s usual style pushing the reader on at the end of each chapter into the next, but this time she really ratcheted up the intensity and didn’t really give the reader a breather. Translation – not much sleep until I finished the sequel.

A good portion of the book is devoted to the teenage mindset or lack thereof. Quinn has that affliction down pat and the problems that ensue would make any parent prematurely gray. It’s a white-knuckler and if you’re looking for an enjoyably soapy beach read Unpredictable Webs will keep you stuck to your chair.”

Lisa de Vincent
IWOSC Board Member
Columnist Santa Monica Stare

“When you read one of Ms. Quinn’s Webs series, you meet a family, much like any other family. This family has good days and bad days, good relations and not-so-good relations, employment problems and family interactions. The corporate world is represented by the large department store conglomerates as they jockey for customers and power. Unpredictable Webs continues with this saga

The real essence of this latest offering is family. We learn how the twins found each other, how they cope, and how resilient they become.

Ms Quinn manages the scope of family trials, duels and reconciliations very well. The “evil sister” approach is handled with aplomb and reads like it actually happened to someone. We all cope with personal issues in individual ways. There is nothing different is this novel.

All Ms. Quinn’s books are easy to read, thoughtful, and do not hold back on sensitive issues.

I highly recommend you read this, (after you have read the first one). reading them in order is not required, but it is a good idea.”

Margie E. Brown

“I think the best advice I can give anyone considering “Unpredictable Webs” is to be ready to spend some time enjoying this book because it is really hard to put down once you have started it. The nice thing about it is that the chapters are short so you can get in “one more chapter” before you really must put it away. If you are like me though you will find yourself thinking about the characters even when you are not reading it, that is how much a part of your life they become.

I have read all of the Web Series and I while I enjoyed all of them, “Twisted Webs” was my favorite because as a mother it made me think twice about the way I would have reacted to the situations that occurred. So when I saw that “Unpredictable Webs” picked up a few years after “Twisted Webs” I was really looking forward to seeing how the characters lives had turned out. Darlene Quinn didn’t not disappoint in writing another fast paced, thrilling, character driven novel. Once again I found myself wondering how I would have reacted faced with certain situations.

I also find the business side of the story line to be interesting since I still shop in department stores and in the past few years there have been a lot of changes that I didn’t approve of. So to be able to see both sides of the story is educational and the way it fits into the story line is interesting instead of being cut and dried.

I highly recommend “Unpredictable Webs” and well as all the other books in the “Web Series”.

Peggy Kuntzelman

“Unpredictable Webs” is the second novel that I’ve read in the Web Series. The first being “Webs of Fate”. In that novel and in this one as well….Quinn, an international award-winning author, weaves together the plot with skill and expertise. Her knowledge of this fast paced, competitive world is evident in every word that she writes. She utilizes this knowledge to create an action packed, fictional work of art that will capture any reader’s interest right at the onset.

Marnie Taylor, the almost sixteen year old rebellious twin to Callie, has been abducted at birth. Reunited with her birth family at the age of eight, she still holds strong ties to the only mother she knew up to that point, Erica Christonelli. She is determined to leave the comfortable home she now lives in and return to the Christonellis as soon as she is able to legally make that decision. Due to her unhappiness and jealousy, she holds the inaccurate idea that her twin sister Callie and younger sister Julianna, are more loved and cherished by their parents. This dissatisfaction in her young life is the stimulus for creating an on-line relationship with Brad/Neil. When they make plans to meet in person, the terror and subsequent story line unfolds as Neil’s half brother, Rick, comes up with a kidnapping scheme. Ashleigh and Conrad Taylor show their love and devotion to all their children as they make every effort to comply to the ransom demands.

Up to this point, the reader is introduced to a vibrant cast of characters including Viviana De Mornay who is about to take Chicago’s fashion industry by storm and her new main squeeze, sexy Italian Gino Cabello. Tony Wainwright, with his former criminal record, is making every effort to turn his life around but…when his past with the Taylors comes back to haunt him, he has every desire to prove his innocence in this latest abduction. There are many unpredictable twists and turns in this novel which certainly give credence to the aptly chosen title. “Unpredictable Webs” grabbed me from the first page to the last. The chapters are short, the plot is captivating, the characters are varied, and the story is well-written. In a nutshell, this novel is easy-to-read, hard to put down, and what I consider to be a “feel good” book because despite all the negative events, the Taylors prove that wealth and success don’t always corrupt people. Ashleigh and Conrad clearly demostrate their morals and values by the example they set for others and their ability to forgive.

As said in my previous review…It is apparent that Quinn is no novice when it comes to her ability to create a story chock full of intrigue, jealousy, romance, hatred and revenge. The many twists and turns that captivate the reader and hold their interest is beyond description…I wanted to keep reading and reading and I was very disappointed to see this novel come to an end. To me, that spells a great book. Quinn made me want more…no reader can ask for more than that nor can any author!”

Dolores Ayotte

Unpredictably wonderful read
“Darlene Quinn takes us on an unpredictable journey as her twin daughter Marnie, who was kidnapped at birth is about to be kidnapped again. At least that is the kidnappers plan. Entrenched in the high stakes and glamour of the fashion industry, Ashleigh Taylor must weave her way around saving not only her relationship with her daughter, but her entire family. The tale Darlene Quinn tells is beautifully written and reaches into the heart of families and their relationships with one another on many levels. Her characters come alive on the page filled with hopes, desires and fears. My personal favorite character is Helen, an older woman who is just starting her journey into Alzheimer’s. Helen keeps everyone on their toes as she wants to be a younger woman in dress and actions despite her age. I could identify with Helen. I want to still be young as well. There is something for everyone as the story is told through the daughters eyes as well as Ashleigh’s. A wonderful job! I enjoyed every minute of it.”

Lisa Lewis Moon
House On Butcher Harbor- A Ghost Story

“I have read all of Darlene’s books in Webs Series. I have enjoyed each of them. Though they of course are “webbed” together, each one has its own part to tell. This most recent one “Unpredictable Webs” had me wondering, what was next at the end of each chapter. I am practically interested in human behavior…what makes people do what they do and how they behave with each other. I wondered what would become of the kidnapped girl. What would she be like as a result of what has happened in her life. Well this book offered that information and much more. I found myself unable to put down the book. By the way you should read each book. But even if you read this book alone, Darlene makes sure you are not lost by providing enough information so as the “catch you up”. She is a talented writer that is able to continue weaving a web that leave you wondering what is next.”

Silver Fox

“Wow go Buy….. From the moment I Picked unpredictable Webs up, Seven Hours passed Before I put it down, Bar Tea and Wine breaks. After Several days, my Cable box was full, but I felt Inspired.”

Andy Robert Louis Stevenson

5star

There is a new Darlene Quinn book out in her Webs series and it is one you will not want to miss out on! “Unpredictable Webs” draws the reader back into the retail and fashion world as well as the lives of Ashleigh and Conrad and their twin daughters Callie and Cassie/Marnie. The book picks up in the series five years after Marnie is returned to her birth parents. Marnie is a rebellious teenager and has had difficulty adjusting to her family as they are not the family she grew up with as a child and finds it hard to fit in with the perfect twin sister. Marnie believes that she has met a friend online and comes to trust him – to trust him enough to meet him. However, Marnie learns too late that her friend is not who she believes him to be and she is caught in a sinister plan.

This book is a fast-paced exciting read that immediately draws the reader back into the characters’ lives. They are characters who are loved from Quinn’s previous novels. All the characters are so well-developed and so real in this book. It is easy to empathize with the characters, especially the mothers Erica and Ashleigh. I found myself trying to imagine how it would feel not to have my daughter, as Ashleigh felt for years, and how difficult it is for Erica not to have her daughter whom she raised as an infant and child. Quinn is a talented writer and storyteller who writes books filled with all the elements of great books – real characters, love, betrayal and suspense.

Reviewed by Kristie Ingerto for Readers’ Favorite

Hungry? Here’s a book to digest!

Darlene Quinn does it again. Delightfully wicked and exciting – those pages just keep turning!

I felt like I had sat down to an exceptional meal prepared by a trusted celebrity chef! Quinn has served up tried and true characters and stirred in some new faces to entice and entertain. A recipe for success! Her creation blends exotic flavors together ranging from simple sweetness to vivid tartness-just right for an “unpredictable” serving of love, hate, crime and redemption, Each page builds on surprise and suspense pleasing the reader’s palate and leaving us full and satisfied. Thanks Darlene, I can hardly wait for your next course!

Try it, you’ll like it!

Nanci Gee

This is a very entertaining journey through the love of famiies, in the strange seperation of twin sisters, involving a evil instigator, abduction, deception and revenge. Take this roller coaster ride in the fantasy world of chats on MySpace.com, creating a fictional individual using misguided trust.

Dan LeBlanc

A PRAISEWORTHY READ…’COULDN’T PUT IT DOWN – DARLENE AS USUAL CARRIED US INTO HER WORLD OF THE RETAIL INDUSTRY BY SHOWING US THE MYSTERY, INTRIQUE, DECEPTION, COMPASSION AND FAMILY VALUES.

Ginnie Wilcox

This fourth of the Web series is aptly named. Those webs in the retail fashion industry, that are often volatile, sometimes seemingly random, all knit into a satisfactory solution. When jealousy and rebellion spark another kidnapping involving twins Marnie and Callie, the book, as predicted, becomes a page-turner.
Though this new book can stand alone, it is especially enjoyable when the reader already knows something about the background of the main characters and how they have changed in the many years since their previous exploits.

I predict that Unpredictable Webs will be the favorite of Web fans!

Wesla Kerr, author of Matty McGuire Mop-up/Cul-de-Sac series

“Really enjoyed this book from beginning to end, especially the “24-like” action of this drama. The set-up and action flow seamlessly throughout the narrative; and it is clear that Quinn has mastered the psychology and voice of each character. Liked the web references – each time a character tugs on that web, it reverberates with other characters in “unpredictable” ways. Liked the juxtaposition of the characters’ glamorous lives vs. the gritty underlying issues they have to face.”

Kami Weeks

“This is the fourth book in the Web series and even though this is my first book of Darlene Quinn I really enjoyed it. There was enough back story that I didn’t get confused on who was who, and enough of a back story that I know I want to get the other books. The characters are well written and likable. I think what I liked the most was that the family was close. Even though Marnie wants to live with her other family in Chicago and gets rebellious it is never malicious or hateful. When one of the twins gets kidnapped the strength of the family and their friends really shine through. It is refreshing to read of a family that stands together in a crisis and kids who truly love their parents. I won this from LibraryThing Early Reviewers and I highly recommend it.”

Sam – Good Reads

“Unpredictable Webs” was so descriptive and flowed along so well you felt you were part of a movie. I really enjoyed the way Darlene included the corporate retail which she knows so well right in with the character’s lives. It was such a believable story with wonderful character development.”

Sally Fritch

How can a hostile takeover of a department store be made into an interesting novel? Ask Darlene Quinn. This fourth installment of her “Webs” series answers that question quite nicely. This author has done her research well. She presents her characters with depth and passion. She creates scenes the reader can see in his/her mind’s eye. She leads the reader along with the thoughts of her characters’ minds.

Because of the way she writes, I can see this novel, and actually, the entire series of “Webs” novels, being made into a daytime drama. The way in which the author describes the character’s thoughts and feelings could easily be a scene on television. However, although there is passion, there is not the blatant sexuality that is often seen in daytime drama. The sexual attractions are there in places, but are described as feelings. The actual sex is not graphically portrayed.

Although there are 127 chapters and an additional section of author’s notes at the end, the chapters are very short. This makes reading very easy for busy readers who have only small snatches of time available. Each chapter, however, keeps the reader wanting to turn the page, so he/she is sure to pick it up again.

The novel is based on a true story and, as I said, the author has done her research well. I would recommend this book to those who like continuing dramas that are not filled with graphic sexual detail, but contain mystery, intrigue and satisfying endings.

Harriet Berg

It’s not easy to find your footing in this book if you haven’t read the others that went before it – which I haven’t. But the first chapters with the many character introductions are like a lively surf: once you’re beyond that, you’ll find yourself in calmer waters, and easily ensnared by a compelling story.
This is a sweeping family saga, with many twists and turns, and many people telling it from their point of view. Again, this may not everyone’s cup of tea, but it doesn’t bother me at all. In fact, it adds to the mosaic. A nice read for a lazy Sunday afternoon!
Mariam Kobras